Skip to content

I Would Be The Man Who Blogged About You

May 19, 2013

I don’t have a lot of fiends to begin with. But trying to write this I think that all of the people my brain allows me to think of as friends, I think of as some of my best friends.

There are those who have come and gone, or for one reason or another are not here. Growing up my besty was Karen. We got married because we thought it would be fun and it was. But she had her own demons and went her own way to take care of them and she is still missed. John is not gone, merely marching far away. There is not a kindler, gentler man in this world. Finest kind. He followed his heart to Arizona and is still missed.

There is DankRobber and Rooster. Two of the greatest guys in the world. We ride the Porckchop Express Podcast together. Through all of my neurosis, addictions, recoveries, ups and downs, these guys have been there. They make me feel…safe. Which may or may not be an odd choice, but I didn’t choose it. And it is more then a compliment. For me to be comfortable around anyone, it must be love!

Which brings us to Mrs. Whatever. When I started blogging/tweeting using that name as a reference for her I only did it when I knew she wouldn’t see it. I thought it was cute, but I was afraid she would be offended. I immediately thought I was robbing her of any identity. Whatever is who I am. I wanted to include her but feared I was just lumping her in with a jackass like me. She is so much better then that. But I still used the name. She was Mrs. Whatever.

There is also Richard. RVG. The only one as odd as I am. Most people usually think we are a couple. To be honest, if I were them and they were us, I probably would think so too. I don’t think it’s weird at all. Most people who think we are a couple, have me pegged as the “guy” in the relationship. That is weird. Have they seen my cross stitch? RVG drives a Mustang. Even I know that’s a manly ass car to drive. I scribble on my shoes like a school girl. Richard is one of those guys who at the height of it’s popularity had a “I watch Grey’s Anatomy” t-shirt and he did watch it, only to strike up conversation with the prettiest of GA fans.

I have a M*A*S*H shirt. It doesn’t start very many conversations that might end to me getting laid. Even Mrs. Whatever rolls her eyes and asks “that again”? Yes, this again. Because I don’t have a Scrubs shirt (I wish I did). I like M*A*S*H and Scrubs. I never got in to E.R. But every woman I have ever been in a relationship with has been all about McDreamy or McSteamy or Team Edward, WTF!!! M*A*S*H was off the air two years after I was born and Scrubs just a couple years back. I tried to get in to House M.D. (mental defective) but I found it a bit much. Assholes generally don’t like to watch other assholes get away with, or worse rewarded for being assholes. I don’t get rewarded for being an asshole. Now I am just a jealous asshole. … asshole.

Mrs. Whatever is in to Grey’s. I mean in to it. It was her Game of Thrones before there was Game of Thrones. This season I started staying in the room for the episodes. I usually bake, work on the computer, or generally disappear during Grey’s but we’ve been working on spending more time together so I thought I could just be in the room. No, I got hooked. Not hooked. Maybe just roped in. We just watched the finally and I am pretty sure I will live regardless if he does (No spoilers, right).

Scrubs had amazing music. The best music-to-show pairing bar none. From the theme song actually fitting the THEME of the show, to every episode that hid the saddest moments behind some of the most beautiful music. The Grey’s pre-finale did that. Towards the end I picked up a bit of lyric and since the dialog was a little “know-where-this-is-going” so I started listening to the music. Here are some of the lyrics to one of the greatest party songs of all time: I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles). Do your best to get the song and the music out of your head and just read the lyrics:

When I wake up well I know I’m gonna be, I’m gonna be the man who wakes up next to you.
When I go out I know I’m gonna be, I’m gonna be the man who goes along with you
I would walk 500 miles and I would walk 500 more just to be the man who walked a thousand miles to fall down at your door.

That’s not a party, it’s a murder. That is a song about a guy giving himself and his entire identity up to this woman. Not just his self, his entire identity. To the outside world he would just be that guy with her and he thinks she is totally worth that. Amazing. The guy who is the group Sleeping At Last must have never heard the song when he Googled the lyrics (that’s how the story goes in my mind, anyway). They hide his version in the background of the “tree scene” on the next to last episode this season of Grey’s Anatomy. It’s Mrs. Whatever’s favorite show. It might be my favorite to watch with her. She’s my best friend.

In My Ears: Sleeping At Last – I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)
In My Heart: Mr. Windy

From → #BEDM

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

