Skip to content

Walk To Work

May 17, 2013

I have been walking to work for 15 years! Literally since I was 18 years old I have been walking to work. Even now, where I spend two hours each way on the bus I still have a 10 minute walk to the bus
stop and a 10 minute walk to work. In the evening, reverse and repeat.

I am not complaining. I love my walks, I need them. I spend so much time sitting on the bus, followed by a full work day and I spend close to 12 hours sitting. I spend most of them silent, which is one of the reasons I podcast. Being quiet for that long every day feels like hunger pains that eat your stomach lining. It’s not pretty.

My walks give me a chance to stretch my body and wake up a little. No matter which direction or time of day. I am exhausted at the beginning and end of each trip. I want to start a reoccurring post on my twitter once I update my phone. My camera stopped working first and a while ago. Every day when I get off the bus I am facing the sun and I try to take just one second to enjoy it. By the time I get to work it is only 7:30. I am usually up before the sun and this is the first time it makes it’s appearance into most of my days. I hope to post a daily (or near daily) sunrise once I get the chance.

Since I don’t have any pictures to share I will tell you a secret instead: I sing on my walk in to work. I’m silent for nearly 12 hours and I love music. It’s another great release for me and my mind. In
the afternoon there are cars and people are driving by with their windows down. But at 7:13 am, anyone who is out usually has their windows up and their hot/cold system on. I have found that a little
singing on my way in loosens the grip on my mind just enough to start fresh once I hit the door to my building. What do you sing when no one is listening?

In My Ears: Face To Face – Walk The Walk
In My Heart: Music
From → #BEDM

One Comment
  1. Ye gods! 2 hours on the bus each way? Where do you work?

Leave a Reply

