Skip to content

Food, Glorious Food!

May 14, 2013

My favorite food in the whole world is not special. My favorite food in the world is not decadent. It is not hard to make, it is not exciting, it does not command a special following like a McRib and is probably as forgettable to most as macaroni and cheese. But it sings to me.

I have worked at a few Japanese restaurants of various dining styles. From the imported-yet-Americanized fast food of Yoshinoya’s Beef Bowl to sit down and be patient sushi places. I can make decent sushi (the last time I tried) and some of my favorite memories involve raiding a fridge for leftovers after running out of decent ingredients at a sushi party for friends. Spaghetti sushi and Thanksgiving rolls are not my favorites but they do hold some of my favorite memories.

My favorite food sings to me. It does not bore me. I want it. Occasionally I need it. I ate it every day for lunch, 5 days a week and Sundays for dinner for over three years. It is dirt-simple to make and I find it almost impossible to get bored with (but that’s just me). I know how to make six different sides that all go with my favorite food but not really with each other. This is in case I ever have to make it six times and don’t want to run the risk of only having one side dish to go with it over multiple servings.

Of all my dreams, wishes and I still want to’s, the deepest and most honest is a little closet space in our local international market where I can set up shop to serve lunch and dinner. Maybe sushi rolls on weekends for my friends. My favorite food would be the star but I know a couple of more that go with some of those side dishes. I know I probably won’t get there but out of all the daydreams I constantly put myself through: craft writer, musician, or even blogger, tiny little food court shop operator still seems like the most practicle. Or perhaps justthe most possible. It doesn’t require anyone else to think I am great, just me, and I already do!

So make some rice and while it cooks make this (and by the by, rice cookers are more popular then microwaves in Japan. Go out and get one. They come in more sizes then crock pots):

Whatever James’ Koufuku-don (Happiness Over Rice)

1/4 c Soy Sauce
1/2 c Mirin
4-6 boneless skinless chicken thighs

Cook the chicken “skin-side” down in the soy and mirin once it starts boiling turn down to medium high heat and boil for 6-7 minutes. If there is any boil over it means the sauce is burning. Add just a splash of water (or mirin) to tame. Flip the chicken and cook for another 6-7 minutes, minding the same rules for boil-over. Turn the chicken skin-side down when done. Put your rice in bowls, slice the chicken and fan over the top. Add your favorite sauce if you are into that sort of thing. I told you, it may not be the best you ever have. But it is my favorite.

In My Ears: Descendents – I Like Food
In My Heart: Koufuku (Happiness)

From → #BEDM

One Comment
  1. Om nom nom.

Leave a Reply

