Skip to content

Mellon Collie and the Infinite Love Affair

December 7, 2012

In October 1995 The Smashing Pumpkins released Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. It was the band’s third studio album and a blazing sonic landscape across 2 discs and 28 tracks.

In October of 1995 my mother “kidnapped” the girl who would grow up and become my wife, Windy (Mrs. Whatever). I can still remember being at the record store together. Crammed in the back of a Ford Explorer and on our way to a series of hotels, motels, friends’ houses and other stops on the fugitive road.

This is one of those albums that changed my life. I had been kind of a punker (still am). I had gotten in to Nirvana after Kurt Cobain’s death and the release of MTV Unplugged. I had backtracked through Sonic Youth, The Descendents’ and all the other bands. But Mellon Collie was more than just the follow up to Alt Rock treasure Siamese Dream. Mellon Collie had strings, and acoustic guitars all over the place and all in between some songs even I knew sounded very METAL!

If Nirvana and the like were showing me it could be done, Corgan and co. were showing me how to do it. In fact after a year of continuous listening I wrote a song that has been with me far to long. If the Pumpkins hadn’t sung about Vampires, I may never have either.

Yes, those were the good old days.

Not that the good new days have anything wrong. Billy Corgan has been re-releasing the entire Pumpkins catalog  and Mellong Collie got the 5-disc treatment. Six if you count the DVD.

I have not even made it to the extra material…yet. I have been enthraled with the sound of the album again, as well as the memories of being an accessory to felony kidnapping and life on the run (lot’s of McDonalds). #1995

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

